Croix-Rouge Française - Plateforme d'Intervention Régionale Amériques Caraïbes

Regional Intervention Platform of Americas and Caribbean 21 October 2017

Our MANDATE

What is the PIRAC?

The Regional Intervention Platform for the Americas and the Caribbean (PIRAC), of the French Red Cross, was created within the framework of the program Interreg III-B, March 19, 2005. This was done in partnership with the Haitian Red Cross and the regional disaster response unit of the International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies (IFRC) named PADRU.

Following the example of the platforms for the Indian Ocean and the South Pacific Ocean (PIROI/PIROPS), the Regional Intervention Platform for the Americas and the Caribbean (PIRAC) intervenes in all the countries of the Caribbean and the Guiana Shield in the realm of disaster management: prevention, preparation, response and reconstruction.

Since its creation in 2005, the Regional Intervention Platform for the Americas and the Caribbean (PIRAC) has intervened 12 times in the region in emergency situations. It also manages, on a day to day basis, regional disaster management programs/projects.

In this way, the PIRAC develops activities which allow National Societies of the Red Cross, delegations of the French Red Cross and auxiliaries to government in the zone, to better prepare for intervening in the event of natural disasters (i.e., training of intervention teams, simulation exercises, prevention, preparation, emergency response and reconstruction...).

The PIRAC is managed by the regional delegation of the French Red Cross which is based in Guadeloupe. This office has seven (7) staff members who coordinate and support the activities underway in the 11 different territories: Jamaica, Grenada, Dominica, St Kitts and Nevis, Guadeloupe, Martinique, French Guiana, Haiti, St Martin, St Barthélémy, and Guyana.



Objectives

Over the last ten years, one has seen an intensification of natural disasters in the Caribbean, linked in part to global warming which affects the temperature of the oceans and the trajectory of hurricanes. Due to their isolation, islands very often have difficulty dealing with the consequences of such disasters.

The primary objective of the PIRAC is to strengthen, within each country, inter-Caribbean cooperation in responding to natural disasters. This is accomplished via the International Movement of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies, in the sharing of human and material resources and in organizing, at the regional level, an operational response to emergencies.


Zones of intervention

The PIRAC covers the Lesser Antilles, the Greater Antilles, as well as the Guiana Shield.

- Lesser Antilles: Guadeloupe, Martinique, St Barthélémy, St Martin, Grenada, Dominica, St Lucia, St Kitts and Nevis, St Vincent and the Grenadines, Antigua and Barbuda.

- Greater Antilles: Haiti, Jamaica

- Guiana Shield: French Guiana, Guyana, Suriname

The PIRAC maintains regular contact in the zone with five (5) territorial delegations of the French Red Cross, 16 National Societies, 6 PNS (Participating National Society) permanently present in the region, three (3) regional entities of the International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies (IFRC), and the International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC).


Areas of Intervention

- Distribution of kits : hygiene kit, shelter kit, kitchen set, shelter tools
- Provision of potable water
- Basic health care
- Telecommunications
- Reconstruction of shelters

In addition to emergency interventions, preparing communities for disasters helps to reduce their vulnerability.

Croix-Rouge Française - Plateforme d'Intervention Régionale Amériques Caraïbes

Plateforme d'Intervention Régionale Amériques Caraïbes Lundi 27 Mars 2017

Notre MANDAT

Qu'est-ce que la PIRAC?

La Plateforme d’Intervention Régionale Amériques Caraïbes (PIRAC) de la Croix-Rouge française a été créée dans le cadre du programme Interreg IIIB le 19 mars 2005, en partenariat avec la Croix-Rouge haïtienne et l’unité régionale de la Fédération Internationale Croix-Rouge (FICR)de réponse à l’urgence nommée la PADRU.

A l’instar des plateformes de l’Océan Indien et de l’Océan Pacifique sud (PIROI/PIROPS), la Plateforme d’Intervention Régionale Amériques Caraïbes (PIRAC) intervient dans tous les pays de la Caraïbe et du Plateau des Guyanes en matière de gestion de catastrophes: prévention, préparation, réponse et reconstruction.

Depuis sa création, en 2005, la Plateforme d’Intervention Régionale Amériques Caraïbes (PIRAC) est intervenue 12 fois dans la Région en situation d’urgence, et gère au quotidien des programmes/ projets régionaux de gestion de catastrophes.

Ainsi, elle développe des activités permettant aux sociétés nationales de la Croix-Rouge, délégations Croix-Rouge française et auxiliaires des pouvoirs publics de la zone, de mieux se préparer à intervenir en cas de catastrophe naturelle (formation des équipes d’intervention, exercices de simulation, prévention, préparation, réponse à l’urgence et reconstruction...).

La PIRAC est gérée par la délégation régionale Croix-Rouge française basée en Guadeloupe, qui accueille 7 salariés coordonnant et appuyant des activités mises en œuvre dans 11 territoires différents : la Jamaïque, la Grenade, la Dominique, St Kitts et Nevis, la Guadeloupe, la Martinique, la Guyane, Haïti, Saint-Martin, St Barthélemy et le Guyana.



Objectifs

Sur les dix dernières années on observe une intensification des catastrophes naturelles dans les Caraïbes, liée en partie au réchauffement climatique qui affecte la température des océans et la trajectoire des ouragans. En raison de leur isolement, les îles ont bien souvent du mal à faire face aux conséquences de telles catastrophes.

L’objectif premier de la PIRAC est de renforcer sur chaque territoire, la coopération inter-caribéenne dans le domaine de la réponse aux catastrophes naturelles à travers le Mouvement International de la Croix-Rouge et du Croissant-Rouge, ceci en mutualisant les ressources matérielles et humaines de chacun, et en organisant au niveau régional la réponse opérationnelle à l’urgence.


Zones d'intervention

La PIRAC couvre les petites Antilles, les grandes Antilles, ainsi que le plateau des Guyanes.

- Les petites Antilles: Guadeloupe, Martinique, St Barthélémy, St Martin, Grenade, Dominique, Ste Lucie, St Kitts & Nevis, St Vincent et les Grenadines, Antigua et Barbuda.

- Les grandes Antilles: Haïti, Jamaïque

- Le plateau des Guyanes : Guyane, Guyana, Suriname

La PIRAC entretient des relations régulières dans la zone avec 5 délégations territoriales de la Croix-rouge française , 16 sociétés nationales , 6 Sociétés Nationales Participantes (PNS) présentes en permanence dans la région, 3 entités régionales de la Fédération Internationale de la Croix-Rouge et du Croissant rouge (FICR), et le Comité International Croix-rouge (CICR).


Domaines d'intervention

- Distribution de kits : hygiène, abri temporaire, cuisine, outillage pour la reconstruction
- Approvisionnement en eau potable
- Soins de santé de base
- Télécommunications
- Reconstruction d’abris

En complément des interventions d’urgence, la préparation des communautés aux catastrophes permet de réduire leur vulnérabilité.