Croix-Rouge Française - Plateforme d'Intervention Régionale Amériques Caraïbes

Regional Intervention Platform of Americas and Caribbean 16 April 2014

DISASTER MANAGEMENT - Rehabilitation / Reconstruction

Rehabilitation/Reconstruction

21/12/2010

When a country is hit hard by a natural disaster or destroyed by an armed conflict, the Red Cross has a duty to intervene in the emergency. But, outside of emergencies, numerous programs for rehabilitation and reconstruction are also carried out.
One of the objectives of the Regional Intervention Platform for the Americas and the Caribbean (PIRAC) is, firstly, to offer to populations affected by the disasters, whether natural or man-made, the security of a temporary shelter and secondly, to plan with them the reconstruction phase.
The French Red Cross (FRC) has also been able to develop its response capacities within these regions where its expertise in the realm of development is recognized. It can also respond effectively to small- or medium-sized disasters which have received little media attention.

Even though having always existed, these interventions, called bilateral, are in development and rely on the expertise of human resources already installed in the countries and/or regions these last several years, by the FRC. The FRC relies on these interventions to ensure the continued existence (and relevance) of the assistance which it can take to populations affected by small- or medium-size disasters. This tendency is due, both to the growing presence of the FRC in the world, and, to the demands of the funders who are more inclined to finance those partners who are already present in the country affected by the disaster.

Four key words characterize the expertise of the FRC in emergencies:

FLEXIBILITY: responding in a graduated manner during operations;

MUTUALIZATION: incorporating into its own expertise the know-how of each one in the field, in the same way as at HQ;

SYNERGY: initiating a real link and interaction across the various thematic components within a dynamic disaster management approach;

QUALITY: clear and operational rules and systems which are shared and respected by all.

Rehabilitation/Reconstruction

Croix-Rouge Française - Plateforme d'Intervention Régionale Amériques Caraïbes

Plateforme d'Intervention Régionale Amériques Caraïbes Samedi 18 Novembre 2017

GESTION DES CATASTROPHES - Réhabilitation/ Reconstruction

Réhabilitation/Reconstruction

21/12/2010

Lorsqu’un pays est durement frappé par une catastrophe naturelle ou déchiré par un conflit armé, la Croix-Rouge a vocation à intervenir dans l’urgence. Mais au delà de l'urgence, sont menés de nombreux programmes de réhabilitation et reconstruction.

L'un des objectifs de la PIRAC, est dans un premier temps, offrir aux populations touchées par des catastrophes naturelles ou des conflits, la sécurité d’un abri temporaire mais aussi, dans un second temps, concevoir avec elles la phase de la reconstruction.

La Croix-Rouge française a également pu développer ses capacités de réponse au sein même des régions où son expertise en matière de développement est reconnue : elle peut ainsi répondre de manière efficiente à des catastrophes de petite et moyenne ampleur peu médiatisées.

Bien qu’ayant toujours existé, ces interventions, dites « bilatérales », sont en développement et s’appuient sur l’expertise des ressources humaines déjà en place dans les pays et/ou les régions ces dernières années par la Croix-Rouge française. Celle-ci compte sur ces interventions pour pérenniser l’aide qu’elle peut apporter aux populations affectées par des catastrophes de petite et moyenne ampleur. Cette tendance est à la fois due à la présence accrue de délégations Croix-Rouge française dans le monde, mais est également liée aux exigences des bailleurs de fonds, de plus en plus enclins à financer des partenaires déjà présents dans le pays affecté par la crise.

Quatre mots clés caractérisent l’expertise de la Croix-Rouge française dans l’urgence :

FLEXIBILITE : répondre de façon graduée lors des opérations;

MUTUALISATION : réunir dans son expertise propre les savoir-faire de chacun sur les terrains comme au siège;

SYNERGIE : initier un lien réel et une interaction entre les différentes composantes thématiques au sein d’une dynamique gestion des catastrophes (Disaster Management);

QUALITE : des règles et des schémas opérationnels clairs, partagés et respectés par tous.


Réhabilitation/Reconstruction