Croix-Rouge Française - Plateforme d'Intervention Régionale Amériques Caraïbes

Regional Intervention Platform of Americas and Caribbean 15 December 2017

Water and Sanitation in Guyana

Guyana Water and Sanitation Project

02/12/2010

The French Red Cross (FRC) Delegation of Guyana is acting jointly with the International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies (IFRC), which is the recipient of funds from the European Union, in order to carry out a water and sanitation project in rural areas. The objective is to improve the sanitary conditions and the quality of life of vulnerable communities in rural areas in the regions of North West District and Rupununi. This is in accordance with the Millennium Development Objectives and the global initiative of the International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies in the area of water and sanitation.

The specific objective is to attack diseases linked to the lack of access to water, to sanitation, and to improve the conditions of hygiene for 30 communities targeted. This will be done using the PHAST (Participatory Hygiene and Sanitation Transformation) methodology base on a participatory approach, the development of infrastructure for water and sanitation, and a partnership with the government and other organizations.

The action is based on existing capacities, in partnership with the Guyana Red Cross, and favours capacity building through mobilization and the training of health workers, teachers, and communities.

In the tradition of this action, the FRC seeks equally today to diversify its activities. In fact, a new project was submitted at the beginning of July 2010, with the aim of improving the capabilities of Amerindians in the area of treatment through trainings (based on the IFRC standards) and aimed at volunteers in Amerindian communities.

Croix-Rouge Française - Plateforme d'Intervention Régionale Amériques Caraïbes

Plateforme d'Intervention Régionale Amériques Caraïbes Lundi 27 Mars 2017

Eau et assainissement au Guyana

Guyana projet d’eau et d’assainissement

02/12/2010

La Délégation CRF du Guyana agit conjointement avec la Fédération Internationale de la Croix-Rouge et du Croissant-Rouge (FICRCR) qui est le récipiendaire des fonds de l’Union Européenne, afin de réaliser un projet d’eau et d’assainissement en zone rurale qui a pour objectif d’améliorer les conditions sanitaires et la qualité de vie des communautés vulnérables des zones rurales des régions de North West District et Rupununi, et ce, en accord avec les Objectifs de Développement du Millénaire et de l’initiative globale de la Fédération Internationale des Sociétés de la Croix-Rouge et du Croissant-Rouge en matière d’eau et d’assainissement.

L’objectif est de s’attaquer aux pathologies liées au manque d’accès à l’eau, à l’assainissement et d’améliorer les conditions d’hygiène auprès des 30 communautés cibles, à travers une méthodologie communautaire participative (PHAST), le développement d’infrastructures d’eau et d’assainissement et un partenariat avec le gouvernement et autres organisations.

L’action s’appuie sur les capacités existantes en partenariat avec la Croix-Rouge du Guyana et privilégie le renforcement des capacités à travers la mobilisation et la formation des personnels de santé, des enseignants et des communautés.

Dans la lignée de cette action, la CRF cherche également aujourd’hui à diversifier ses activités. En effet un nouveau projet a été déposé au début du mois de juillet, avec pour objectif d’améliorer les capacités des amérindiens en matière de soins par le biais de formations (basées sur les standards de la FICR) destinées aux volontaires des communautés amérindiennes.