Croix-Rouge Française - Plateforme d'Intervention Régionale Amériques Caraïbes

Regional Intervention Platform of Americas and Caribbean 23 August 2017

Preparedness for disaster risk in Grenada

Preparedness for disaster risk in Grenada

01/12/2010

The French Red Cross (FRC) made its first appearance in Grenada following the passage of Hurricane Ivan, which ravaged the country in 2004.
The implementation of a project for rehabilitating and repairing houses and to prepare for disasters led to three years of close collaboration with the Grenada Red Cross.

After a break of a few years, the FRC is once again present in the country due to a new project for preparing the risk of disasters. This was launched in January 2010, within the framework of the program, DIPECHO 7 of the European Commission.
By training Community Disaster Response Teams (CDRT), pre-positioning stock and equipment in communities, and by creating micro-projects aimed at reducing risks, this project, entitled,« Readiness: let’s spice it up ! », has the primary objective of building capacity in 8 communities to deal with disasters which constitute natural or man-made threats.

The French Red Cross is also active in the country with projects of the Regional Intervention Platform for the Americas and the Caribbean (PIRAC):

- Within the framework of the project, Preparedness for Response, which seeks to reduce the impact of natural disasters on the Caribbean by developing, in cooperation with the relevant government agencies, regional operational preparations of the International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement as it concerns: disaster response planning, training of volunteers, and simulation exercises.

- This was also the case through « the Shelter Kit Training project» which has allowed for the training of volunteers with the Grenada Red Cross in the use of the IFRC shelter kit and in the putting up of temporary shelters in preparation for the emergency response phase.

« The Shelter Kit Training project» was implemented in 2009 with the objective of reinforcing the capacities of three National Societies (Dominica, Grenada, and Jamaica) by training volunteers at the community and national levels.

Disseminated during the preparation phase, this Shelter Kit Training allowed National Societies to train approximately 100 volunteers in the techniques for putting up temporary shelters and in the best methods for securing the tarpaulins. Following this project, in 2010, a CD of the Shelter Kit Training was created. It contains all the documents and presentations used in the facilitation of the training.

To access this training, click on the link: link to the CD « Shelter Kit Training.»

Croix-Rouge Française - Plateforme d'Intervention Régionale Amériques Caraïbes

Plateforme d'Intervention Régionale Amériques Caraïbes Jeudi 27 Juillet 2017

Préparation au risque de catastrophe à Grenade

Préparation au risque de catastrophe à Grenade

01/12/2010

La Croix-Rouge française a fait ses premiers pas à Grenade à la suite du passage de l’ouragan Ivan qui ravagea le pays en 2004.
La mise en place d’un projet de réhabilitation des maisons et de préparation aux catastrophes a donné lieu à trois ans d’étroite collaboration avec la Croix Rouge Grenadienne.

Après un retrait temporaire de quelques années, la Croix-Rouge française est aujourd’hui de retour dans le pays grâce à un nouveau projet de préparation au risque de catastrophes, lancé en janvier 2010 dans le cadre du programme DIPECHO 7 de la Commission Européenne.
En formant des équipes locales d’urgence, en pré-positionnant des stocks de matériel dans les villages et en construisant de petits projets visant à réduire les risques, ce projet, intitulé « Readiness : let’s spice it up ! », a pour objectif de renforcer les capacités de 8 communautés à répondre aux catastrophes d’origine naturelle ou anthropique qui les menacent.


La Croix-Rouge française est également présente dans le pays avec les activités de la Plateforme d’Intervention Régionale Amérique Caraïbes (PIRAC) :

- Dans le cadre de son projet « Urgence » qui vise à réduire les impacts des catastrophes naturelles sur les Caraïbes en développant, en coopération avec les pouvoirs publics compétents, les préparatifs opérationnels régionaux du Mouvement International de la Croix-Rouge concernant : la planification de la réponse aux catastrophes, la formation des bénévoles et les exercices institutionnels.

- Elle l’a été également à travers le projet « shelter kit training » qui a permis de former des volontaires de la Croix-Rouge de Grenade à l’utilisation du kit « abris » de la Fédération et au montage d’abris temporaires en préparation de la phase de réponse à l’urgence..

Mis en place durant l’année 2009, ce projet « shelter kit training » a eu pour objectif de renforcer les capacités de 3 Sociétés Nationales (Dominique, Grenade et Jamaïque) en formant des volontaires aux niveaux national et communautaire.

Disséminée pendant la phase de préparation, cette formation kit « abris » a permis aux SN de former une centaine de volontaires aux techniques de montage d’abris temporaires et aux meilleures techniques de pose de bâches plastiques. Suite à ce projet, en 2010, un CD de la formation kit « abris » a été créé sur lequel se trouvent tous les documents et présentations nécessaires à l’animation de la formation.

Pour accéder à la formation, cliquez sur le lien : Lien vers le CD formation kit « abris ».